MASK-ALLIANCE-BAVARIA

PIA AUTOMATION AMBERG GMBH

PIA Automation is an international group of companies and offers technically complex and economically efficient solutions in automation.
PIA inhouse resources provide a perfect interaction of mechanics, electronics, programming, measurement technology, documentation, image processing, robotics, research and development, everything from a single source. Services range from manual assembly workstations to fully automated production lines. PIA takes into account the trends in the digitalization and interlinking of the manufacturing processes with its own IoT solutions. PIA's competence center for medical technology is located in Amberg, where numerous healthcare products have already been automated successfully.

SANDLER AG

Sandler Group is one of the world’s largest nonwovens manufacturers. At its headquarters in Schwarzenbach/Saale, Germany, the family-run company develops and manufactures nonwovens for a wide range of applications in construction/engineering, filtration, home textiles, hygiene, transportation and wipes.

Since 2016, the U.S. subsidiary Sandler Nonwoven Corporation in Perry, Georgia, manufactures Sandler Nonwovens "made in USA".

Sandler brings over 20 years of experience and technological know-how in manufacturing synthetic air filtration media to the

ZETTL Group

The Zettl Group has stood for excellent solutions in the automotive and interior sectors over the past 30 years. Leading global companies from the automotive industry trust in the expertise made in Bavaria.

Zettl Automotive is specialized in technical services in the field of quality management for various product areas and processes along the entire value chain.

Zettl Interieur is the leading partner for the  development and engineering of high-quality components in the leather sector. We also produce vehicle prototypes, small series and exclusive individual parts.

News

TOGETHER FOR BAVARIA

ARMIN SCHALK
MANAGIN DIRECTOR
PIA AUTOMATION AMBERG GMBH

„Automation is essential for a costeffective domestic production of protective masks. The innovative automation technology of PIA Automation Amberg provides this important element to establish a Bavarian
supply chain."

DR. ULRICH HORNFECK
CHAIR
SANDLER AG

„We are grateful to be a member of the Mask-Alliance-Bavaria and to be able to help to secure the supply reliability for masks. Our gratitude goes out to the committed Sandler team as well as to our cooperation partners and our state politicians. With their outstanding effort and flexibility they make our contribution to overcome the Corona crisis possible.“

REINHARD ZETTL
MANAGING DIRECTOR
ZETTL GROUP

„The alliance enables us to further develop the mask concept together in Bavaria in the upcoming years and to come up with shortterm solutions for current demand. Our goal is to reposition the domestic production in the marketplace.“

ECONOMICS MINISTER HUBERT AIWANGER

„The Corona crisis has shown that for certain protective goods we need a domestic production for crisis prevention. Bavarian companies like PIA, Zettl and Sandler have reacted flexibly in this difficult situation and managed to establish a new supply chain with innovative technology in record time that could be exportable with masks 'made in Bavaria' in the future".

FFP2 Mask production with head bands

QUESTIONS ABOUT THE ALLIANCE

What was the motivation to establish the alliance?

The motivation is to bring together the existing expertise, from all over Bavaria, of nonwoven production, automation and mask production. Even before the Corona pandemic, all companies in the alliance - each in their own sector - were involved in the production of materials for and the manufacture of face masks, in one way or another. And each individual company recognized the need to expand their activities with regard to these products at the beginning of the year and thus make a contribution to the well-being of the people in our country. This commitment and the corresponding network initiatives by politics brought PIA Automation, Sandler und Zettl together. The common desire to establish complete supply chains for face masks in the country and thus ensure supply security even beyond the Corona pandemic ultimately resulted in the establishment of the alliance.

How did the alliance come about?

The commitment of our political representatives played a major role in the founding of the Mask Alliance. Their initiative promoted rapid market development from various sectors of the economy and the networking of the participating companies. This networking brought our companies together and thus laid the foundation for the Mask Alliance Bavaria. They all deserve our gratitude.

How firm or loose is the association?

The alliance serves the exchange of experience and expertise. The three partners are fully committed to the Mask Alliance and the goal of establishing a cooperation that will help to overcome this crisis. We are starting a trustful cooperation while maintaining entrepreneurial freedom.

Should the alliance become permanent?

Face masks are always needed as medical devices and it will remain important in the future to maintain complete supply chains for these products in the country. Our cooperation in the Mask Alliance Bavaria will enable us to quickly produce face masks in the current situation. At the same time, however, it is a long-term cooperation in which we can continue to implement innovations in the future.

MASKEN-VERBUND-BAYERN

PIA AUTOMATION AMBERG GMBH

Die PIA Automation ist eine international aufgestellte Unternehmensgruppe und bietet technisch komplexe und wirtschaftlich ausgereifte Automatisierungslösungen an.

Die PIA-Inhouse-Ressourcen liefern ein perfektes Zusammenspiel von Mechanik, Elektronik, Programmierung, Messtechnik und Robotik sowie Forschung und Entwicklung – alles aus einer Hand. Das Leistungsspektrum reicht vom manuellen Montagearbeitsplatz bis hin zur vollautomatischen Produktionsanlage mit integrierter Prüftechnik, Datendokumentation sowie zahlreichen Industrie 4.0-Lösungen.
Das Komptenzzentrum für Medizintechnik befindet sich direkt am Standort Amberg, wo bereits viele Healthcare-Produkte erfolgreich automatisiert wurden.

SANDLER AG

Die Sandler Gruppe gehört zu den größten Vliesstoffherstellern weltweit.

Am Stammsitz in Schwarzenbach/ Saale entwickelt und produziert das familiengeführte Unternehmen Vliese für unterschiedlichste Anwendungen in den Bereichen Bau/Technik, Filtration, Heimtextil, Hygiene, Transportation und Wipes.

Seit 2016 fertigt die U.S. Niederlassung Sandler Nonwoven Corporation am Standort Perry, Georgia, Sandler Vliesstoffe „made in USA“.
Über 20 Jahre Erfahrung und Technologie-Know-how in der Herstellung synthetischer Medien für die Luftfiltration bringt Sandler in die Produktion von Vliesstoffen für Atemschutzmasken ein.

ZETTL Group

Die Zettl Group steht seit 30 Jahren für exzellente Lösungen in den Bereichen Automotive und Interieur. Weltweit führende Unternehmen aus der Automobilindustrie vertrauen auf die Expertise made in Bavaria.

Zettl Automotive ist spezialisiert auf technische Dienstleistungen im Bereich Qualitätswesen für die unterschiedlichen Produktbereich und Prozesse entlang der kompletten Wertschöpfungskette.

Zettl Interieur ist im Bereich Leder der Partner für Entwicklung und Engineering von hochwertigen Bauteilen. Ebenso fertigen wir Fahrzeugprototypen, Kleinserien und exklusive Individualteile.

Neuigkeiten

GEMEINSAM FÜR BAYERN

ARMIN SCHALK
GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER
PIA AUTOMATION AMBERG GMBH

„Automatisierung ist essentiell für eine kostengünstige Produktion von Schutzmasken im Inland. Die innovative Anlagentechnik der PIA Automation Amberg liefert diesen wichtigen Baustein zum Aufbau einer bayerischen Lieferkette“.

DR. ULRICH HORNFECK
VORSTAND
SANDLER AG

„Wir sind dankbar, als Mitglied des Masken-Verbundes-Bayern zur Sicherung der Versorgung mit Atemschutzmasken beitragen zu können. Unser Dank geht an das engagierte Sandler Team sowie an unsere Kooperationspartner und unsere Landespolitiker. Sie sind es, die mit außergewöhnlichem Einsatz und Flexibilität unseren Beitrag zur Überwindung der Corona-Krise ermöglichen.“

REINHARD ZETTL
GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER
ZETTL GROUP

„Der Verbund ermöglicht uns, gemeinsam in Bayern das Thema AtemSchutzmasken in den kommenden Jahren immer weiter zu entwickeln und kurzfristig Lösungen für den aktuellen Bedarf zu erarbeiten. Unser Ziel ist es, die heimische Herstellung in den Markt neu zu platzieren.“

WIRTSCHAFTSMINISTER HUBERT AIWANGER

„Die Corona-Krise hat gezeigt, dass wir bei bestimmten Schutzgütern eine heimische Produktion zur Krisenvorsorge brauchen. Bayerische Unternehmen wie PIA, Zettl und Sandler haben in dieser schwierigen Situation flexibel reagiert und in Rekordzeit eine neue Lieferkette mit innovativer Technologie aufgebaut, die auch irgendwann mit Masken ‚made in Bavaria‘ exportfähig werden kann“

FFP2 Maskenproduktion mit Kopfbänder

FRAGEN ZUM VERBUND

Was war die Motivation für den Verbund?

Die Motivation liegt darin, das bestehende Knowhow, aus ganz Bayern, von der Vliesfertigung, der Automatisierung und der Maskenherstellung zusammenzuführen.
Bereits vor der Corona-Pandemie hatten alle Unternehmen im Verbund – jedes in seinem Wirtschaftszweig – auf die ein oder andere Art und Weise mit der Herstellung von Materialien für bzw. der Konfektion von Atemschutzmasken zu tun. Und jedes einzelne Unter-nehmen erkannte bereits zu Beginn des Jahres die Notwendigkeit, seine Aktivitäten im Hinblick auf diese Produkte auszubauen und damit einen Beitrag zum Wohle der Menschen in unserem Land zu leisten. Dieses Engagement und die entsprechenden Netzwerkinitiativen der Politik brachten PIA Automation, Sandler und Zettl zusammen. Der gemeinsame Wunsch, vollständige Wertschöpfungsketten für Atemschutzmasken im Land aufzubauen und so auch über die Corona-Pandemie hinaus Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten, resultierte letztendlich in der Gründung des Masken-Verbundes Bayern.

Wie kam es zu dem Zusammenschluss?

Das Engagement unserer Politikvertreter spielte eine große Rolle bei der Gründung des Masken-Verbundes. Ihre Initiative förderte die schnelle Marktbearbeitung aus verschiedenen Wirtschaftszweigen und die Vernetzung der beteiligten Unternehmen. Dieses Networking brachte unsere Unternehmen zusammen und legte somit den Grundstein für den Masken-Verbund-Bayern. Dafür unseren herzlichen Dank.

Wie fest/lose ist der Verbund?

Der Verbund dient dem Austausch an Erfahrung und Knowhow. Die drei Partner stehen voll und ganz hinter dem Masken-Verbund und dem Ziel, eine Kooperation aufzubauen, die zur Überwindung dieser Krise beitragen wird. Wir beginnen hier eine vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit unter Wahrung unternehmerischer Freiheit.

Soll der Verbund permanent bestehen bleiben?

Atemschutzmasken werden als Medizinprodukte immer benötigt und auch in Zukunft wird es wichtig sein, vollständige Wertschöpfungsketten für diese Produkte im Land aufrechtzuerhalten. Unsere Kooperation im Masken-Verbund Bayern wird es uns ermöglichen, in der aktuellen Situation schnell Atemschutzmasken zu fertigen. Es ist aber gleichzeitig eine langfristige Zusammenarbeit, in der wir auch zukünftig beständig Innovationen umzusetzen können.